Smalltown Poets burst onto the Christian music scene with their Grammy-nominated self-titled debut on Ardent/Forefront (EMI) in 1997 and released two more albums with the Memphis based label. Three number one singles and a total of ten top ten radio hits helped garner two Best Rock Gospel Grammy nominations, seven Dove Award nominations (including best new artist) and a Billboard Music video award for the band. Their song Anything Genuine was featured on the platinum selling WOW 1999 compilation. In 2004 the band released It’s Later Than It’s Ever Been on BEC(EMI).


The guys ended a 7-year hiatus from touring and recording in 2011. Over a year in the making, "Smalltown Poets Christmas" was released November 1st of that year, with their single Good Christian Men Rejoice reaching Billboard’s Top 30 songs on Christian radio. Subsequent Decembers have found them touring with their Yuletide repertoire, and they released a follow-up project, "Christmas Time Again," in 2014. Along the way, a seven song EP in the fall of 2012 reminded fans that the Poets aren't just a Christmas band.  "Under the New Sun" is a collection of new songs and older compositions that had never been put onto an album.


Smalltown Poets is: Michael Johnston (vocals), Danny Stephens (keyboards, vocals), Kevin Breuner (guitar), Miguel DeJesus (bass), and Byron Goggin (drums).

© Smalltown Poets 2018